Destination Harrogate

Destination Harrogate

Shortlist announced for Hospitality and Tourism Awards Night

Organisers have announced the shortlist for each of the twelve categories in the Harrogate Hospitality & Tourism Awards which will be presented at a spectacular gala dinner taking place at the Royal Hall on 17th June 2019.

Category sponsors deliberated long & hard over some very tough decisions because of the excellent quality of the nominations again this year with over 1500 received in total - another awards record!

In their eleventh year the awards are organised and hosted by Destination Harrogate, the association of the leading hotels of the town.  David Ritson, of Destination Harrogate, added, "Further to the success of our tenth year anniversary last year, we’re back by popular demand! Once again it is clear from the number of entries we received that these awards still truly capture the imagination of those working in, or affected by hospitality and tourism, and shows what a major industry it is for the town. As the quality of the votes improve we have been keen to go and see these ‘stars’ in action and it is great to see their faces when they realise their hard work has been appreciated. Harrogate relies heavily on both business and leisure tourism and everyone involved in the chain of visitor service delivery play their part in continuing to deliver the excellent standards of service and hospitality associated with Harrogate."

Simon Cotton also of Destination Harrogate commented, "The judges were once again impressed by the level and quality of entries this year and it took a lot of deliberating to decide who would make the short list.  There were a lot of categories where it was really hard to have to leave out some really fantastic entries and I only hope that those who haven’t made it this year to the short list will try again next year. To ensure we had the best candidates shortlisted several sponsors will visit the nominees at their place of work and spend some time to see them in action and talk to them about their jobs. There is no doubt that the awards night on Monday 17th June will once again be a quick sell out and continue to build upon the huge success that it has been in the past".

If you would like to come and support those shortlisted, tickets are available through Linda Bradley Tel 01423 858585 or email costing just £60 per person including VAT.  Demand for tickets is already very high and usually sell out within 2 weeks of the shortlist being announced so please book early to avoid disappointment.

The judging panel's shortlists for each category are:

Waiter/Waitress of the Year – sponsored by Harrogate Spring Water

Adam Mulzynski – Bettys
Pablo Jacquot – Cedar Court Hotgel
Poppy Markham – Mama Doreens
Anita Liddell - The Old Swan Hotel
Sandra Piscopo – BICA Bistro

Bar Person of the Year – sponsored by Matthew Clark

Margit Szitas– West Park Hotel
Dario Silveira– Scran
Alvin Jay Concepcion– Orchid
Willy Metcalfe– Old Bell
Steve Benyon – Stevie’s

Chef of the Year – sponsored by Sykes House Farm

Shortlist to be announced next week

Team of the Year – sponsored by Platinum HPL

CrackerJack BBQ
Harrogate Tourist Information Centre
Wetherspoons Winter Gardens
Harrogate International Festivals
Kimberley Hotel

Newcomer of the Year – sponsored by Harrogate College

Corner Haus
Cold Bath Deli
Santar Deli
Harry Satloka– Free Walking Tours
Natalia Mir – Old Swan Hotel

Unsung Hero – sponsored by Bidfood

Marcia Buckle– Wetherspoons Winter Gardens
David Johnson – Majestic Hotel
Kamil Skibicki - Old Swan Hotel
Marcin Breyla – Crown Hotel
Richard Pullan – Break Fold Farm

Best Achievement of the Year – sponsored by Blueline Taxis

Ripon Poppy Initiative
Harrogate International Festivals
Harrogate BID
Transdev - Harrogate Bus Company

Outstanding Customer Service – Slingby Gin

Sue Oliver – Scran
Sarah Humphries– Starbucks
Julie Binns – Turkish Baths
Andreia Torres – Crown Hotel

Restaurant of the Year – sponsored by Visit Harrogate

Konak Meze
La Feria
Drum & Monkey

Bar of the Year – sponsored by Timothy Taylor's

Hales Bar
Last Post
Fat Badger
Tap on Tower
Cold Bath Brewing

Receptionist of the Year – sponsored by Bookers

Andreea Domi– Crown Hotel
Sarah Nelson– West Park Hotel
Haruka Kalai– Studley Hotel
Sabrina Franz– Majestic Hotel

Harrogate Ambassador - sponsored by Harrogate Christmas Market

The winner of this special Award is to be announced on the night.


Editor's Note: For more information please contact Simon Cotton on 07702 548937 or David Ritson on 07511 610680.